Hope and change

I stripped everything from January 

to see if this could work

I made a promise

and kept it

gave you a longer rope

than you deserved

used it to hang myself in the end

time is never wasted

so all those months as I waited

and hoped for change

taught me patience

how to be more understanding

how to live in your shoes

see the world through your eyes

or at least glimpses

I learnt to be less self-centred

less caught up in what I want

but what was best for two

not one- not me

For it was not I alone but

a team and one loses

the other loses

One wins, grows the other does too

So, here’s to growth for two

Let’s hope and change.

Leave a Reply

