Eyes

I like eyes

ninety-nine point nine percent of the time

they don’t lie

Eyes speak more truth than lips do

Eyes speak more than lips do

They say what lips won’t say

and hope the other one who

takes a look sees what is being said,

understands what is written there

 

Eyes tell of hope, fear, longing

Eyes speak of the unspoken

Eyes do not pretend

 

Whenever I see your eyes

they are often so sad

And if I imagine them now

they would be the same

but with a little softer sadness

I don’t see longing and fear

like I used to but they are still there

I see some strength building

and some longing gone

Your eyes mirror mine

Eyes don’t lie

Why are we?

2 thoughts on “Eyes

Leave a Reply

